United States Senate awarding Katherine Johnson Congressional Gold Medal

Katherine Johnson will be joined by Mary Jackson, Dr. Christine Darden, and Dorothy Vaughan in her nomination for the award. The Congressional Gold Medal is awarded to persons “who have performed an achievement that has an impact on U.S. history and culture that is likely to be recognized as a major achievement in the recipient’s field long after the achievement. It is considered to be equal to the Presidential Medal of Freedom.